5 Must-Read Books to Master Cybersecurity Fundamentals

Reek Elderblod
5 min readAug 28, 2024

Hello everyone, it’s Reek here! Today, I’m excited to share with you five essential books that have significantly strengthened my understanding of cybersecurity fundamentals. I’ll walk you through why I chose each book, what I found most valuable, any drawbacks I encountered, and my overall impression of how they contributed to my learning journey.

Python Crash Course, 3rd Edition

Why I Chose This Book: I chose this book because Many people recommended this book as a great starting point for learning Python, and while my skills were okay, they weren’t as strong as I wanted.

What I Liked: It’s divided into two parts, with the first part covering all the basic knowledge you need to build a project in part 2. In part 2, you’ll build a game where a ship shoots aliens, complete with a scoring system. Then, you’ll perform data analysis using Matplotlib, download data from a website, work with APIs, and finally, build a note-taking website using Django. All the parts were easy to understand and easy to follow because I didn’t face any difficulties while following the book.

What I Disliked: I didn’t find anything particularly negative about this book, but I chose to skip the game development section since I’m not interested in that area.

--

--

Reek Elderblod

Penetration Tester and Bug Bounty Hunter passionate about cybersecurity. Skilled in C, and C++ and my goal is to earn CCIE Security and OSEE by the end of 2036